How India qualified for World Test Cup final after New Zealand’s thrilling win over Sri Lanka

India qualified for the final of the 2023 World Test Cup (WTC) after New Zealand defeated Sri Lanka by two wickets in the first Test at Hagley Oval in Christchurch on Monday (March 13).

The only way Sri Lanka could qualify for the WTC final was if they won the two Tests against New Zealand and if India failed to beat Australia in the fourth and final Test of the Border Gavaskar Trophy at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

While the India-Australia Test looks set to be a draw on a flat surface, it won’t make much of a difference as the hosts qualified for the WTC final at The Oval and Sri Lanka failed to beat New Zealand. The Christchurch Test.

The result means the Lankans will not be able to overtake India in the ICC WTC 2021-23 table.

Set a tough target of 285 in Christchurch, New Zealand resumed their second innings at 28-1. They eventually chased down the target in exactly 70 overs. The Kiwis pulled off an incredible win despite Day 5 being delayed by rain. Former captain Kane Williamson scored a magnificent hundred, remaining unbeaten on 121 off 194, smashing 11 fours and a six.

Sri Lankan left-arm spinner Prabhat Jayasuriya dismissed Tom Latham (25) and Henry Nicholls (20) to reduce New Zealand to 90-3. However, Williamson and Daryl Mitchell (81 off 86) added 142 for the fourth wicket, setting the stage for a memorable chase.

Mitchell’s fine knock ended when he pulled an Asita Fernando delivery back onto his stumps. New Zealand lost a couple of wickets in quick succession in the over, but Williamson was scattered off the last ball to secure an unforgettable win for his side and qualification for the WTC finals for India.

India will play Australia in the WTC 2023 final

India will face Australia in the final of the 2023 World Test Championship, which will be held at The Oval from June 7 to 11, with June 12 as a reserve day.

The Australians confirmed their place in the summit clash after hammering India by nine wickets in the third Test of the ongoing series at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore.

Team India reached the final of the World Test Cup 2021 as well, but lost to the Kiwis by eight wickets in Southampton. India have not won an ICC event since 2013 when they lifted the Champions Trophy under MS Dhoni.

Quick links

More from Sportskeeda

Edited by Rennie Wilben Albert

Source link